Director Eva Cools (Las Meninas, El Camino del deseo) is launching a special crowdfunding group for her feature film, CLEO.

Producer Lunanime, director Eva Cools and conductor Dirk Brossé are searching for 300 or more music lovers who would like to contribute financial support to a unique and special concert recording.

On Monday, 5 March 2018, the complete Piano Concerto no. 2 by Sergej Rachmaninov will be performed in a full concert building in Eindhoven by a famous pianist and a symphony orchestra under the direction of Dirk Brossé. Donate today and enjoy a very special concert evening on 5 March.

 

WHAT? An unforgettable film and musical evening!
WHEN? Monday 5 March 2018, 8 p.m.
WHERE? Music building Eindhoven, Heuvel 140 | 5611 DK Eindhoven, NL
WHO? Symphony orchestra under the direction of conductor Dirk Brossé with the famous pianist Vitaly Samoshko.
HOW? We will gather in Antwerp and travel by bus to Eindhoven (there and back). Further information will follow for all participants.

THE STORY
CLEO is played by Anna Franziska Jäger and is the story of a 17-year-old girl that survives a traumatic car accident, in which her parents died. After that fatal night, she loses herself in Brussels and seeks refuge with the older, mysterious Leos. Her father was a famous concert pianist and she has been playing as well since she was a child. Although she often listens to contemporary music, it is the piano – and especially Rachmaninov’s work – that plays a main role in Cleo’s coping process.

Earlier, CLEO received scenario and production support from the Flemish Audiovisual Fund (Vlaams Audiovisuele Fonds). In 2016, Eva Cools was awarded the Visser-Neerlandiaprijs for best script, a prestigious scenario prize awarded by Dutch and Flemish experts.

The filming of CLEO will start on 24 January 2018.
CLEO was made possible by the support of VAF, Screen Brussels, Telenet, BE TV.

FRAGMENT FROM SCREENPLAY

INT. CONCERT HALL – NIGHT 130
The music of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto no. 2
Cleo is sitting alone in the beautiful concert hall with tears in her eyes, listening to the piano concert.
In her demure outfit, she contrasts sharply with the exuberantly clad music lovers.
In the distance, she sees the pianist playing Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto no. 2 in a masterly fashion.
Cleo is transfixed by the beautiful music.

THE STYLE
CLEO will be filmed almost entirely in Brussels. The raw, authentic character of the city, combined with the beautiful art deco buildings and architecture make Brussels a cinematographic city.

The Brussels–Charleroi Channel, the towers in the north, the art deco cafes and the Victor Boin swimming pool are important locations. Brussels is a personality. The clash between the chaotic traffic and Cleo’s fear of cars could only take place in a big city like Brussels.

THE PIANIST
The Ukrainian pianist Vitaly Samoshko will play during the filming.He moved to Belgium in 2001 and teaches at the Royal Conservatory of Ghent.In 1999, he won the prestigious Queen Elisabeth Music Competition and, in 2005, Klara chose his album ‘Piano Studies Scriabin’ as Best International Album.His repertoire reflects a great familiarity with Rachmaninov’s work – listen to his interpretation of Piano Concerto n°3 here.

In 2008, Knack wrote about his live performance of Rachmaninov: “His interpretation was overwhelming, poetic, organic, and had a maturity that we had not noticed in 1999. His precise, simple articulation and the intensity with which he played was top level. A standing ovation was the least that this performance deserved.

CAST
The leading role is played by Anna Franziska Jäger. This is Anna Franziska’s third film role after My Queen Karo (2009) with Matthias Schoenaerts and Déborah François and Booster by Daniel Lambo (2014). The main cast of CLEO also includes Yolande Moreau (Le tout nouveau testament, Séraphine), Natali Broods (Façades, Tabula Rasa), Martha Canga Antonio (Black), Ishaq El Akel, Lucie Debay (King of the Belgians), Roy Aernouts (De Behandeling).

Supporting roles are played by Jan Hammenecker (Beau Séjour, Home), David Murgia (Rundskop, Dode hoek) and Koen De Sutter (Cordon).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Réalisatrice Eva Cools (Las Meninas, El Camino del deseo) lance un appel spécial au financement participatif.

Lunanime (producteur), Eva Cools (réalisatrice) et Dirk Brossé (chef d’orchestre) sont à la recherche d’au moins 300 mélomanes désireux de soutenir financièrement CLEO et de participer à l’enregistrement d’un concert. Une expérience unique et exceptionnelle.

Le 5 mars 2018 un célèbre pianiste se produira avec un orchestre symphonique sous la direction de Dirk Brossé pour jouer le Concerto pour piano no 2 de Sergueï Rachmaninov dans une salle de concert comble à Eindhoven. Soutenez le projet dès à présent et profitez, le 5 mars, d’une soirée inoubliable.

QUOI? Une soirée musicale et cinématographique inoubliable!
QUAND? Le lundi 5 mars 2018, à 20h
OÙ? Muziekgebouw Eindhoven, Heuvel 140 | 5611 DK Eindhoven, NL
QUI? Un orchestre symphonique sous la direction du chef d’orchestre Dirk Brossé, avec le célèbre pianiste Vitaly Samoshko.
COMMENT? Nous nous retrouvons à Anvers avant de nous rendre à Eindhoven en car (aller-retour). Les participants recevront ultérieurement de plus amples informations.

L’HISTOIRE
CLEO, c’est l’histoire d’une jeune fille de 17 ans qui survit à un grave accident de la route. Ses parents n’ont pas eu cette chance. Après cette funeste nuit, elle se perd dans Bruxelles et se réfugie auprès de Leos, un homme mystérieux plus âgé qu’elle. Le père de Cleo était un pianiste de renom, et la jeune fille joue depuis son plus jeune âge. Si Cleo aime écouter de la musique contemporaine, c’est le piano (et surtout l’œuvre de Rachmaninov) qui est au cœur de son processus de reconstruction.

CLEO bénéficie du soutien du Fonds Audiovisuel de Flandre pour le scénario et la production, et, en 2016, Eva Cools a reçu le prix Visser-Neerlandia du meilleur script, une prestigieuse récompense décernée par des experts néerlandais et belges.

Le tournage de CLEO débutera le 24 janvier 2018 et durera 7 semaines. CLEO a pu voir le jour grâce au soutien du VAF, de Screen Brussels, de Telenet, de Be tv, de Creative Europe MEDIA et de Lumière.

EXTRAIT DU SCÉNARIO

INT. SALLE DE CONCERT – NIGHT 130
Musique du concerto pour piano no 2 de Rachmaninov
Cleo est assise, seule, dans la belle salle de concert,
écoutant, les larmes aux yeux, le magnifique concert de piano.
Sa tenue modeste contraste fortement avec celle des mélomanes richement apprêtés.
Elle voit au loin le pianiste qui interprète avec brio
le concerto pour piano no 2 de Rachmaninov.
Cette musique magnifique cloue Cleo sur place.

LE STYLE
Presque toutes les scènes de CLEO seront tournées à Bruxelles. Le caractère brut et authentique de Bruxelles, son architecture, et ses splendides bâtiments art déco en font la ville cinématographique par excellente.

Le canal Bruxelles-Charleroi, les tours du quartier Nord, les cafés art déco et la piscine Victor Boin sont des lieux clés. Bruxelles est un personnage à part entière. L’affrontement entre un trafic chaotique et le traumatisme que ravivent les voitures chez Cleo ne pouvait avoir lieu que dans une grande ville comme Bruxelles.

LE PIANISTE
Le pianiste ukrainien Vitaly Samoshko sera le pianiste attitré du tournage. Il vit à Bruxelles depuis 2001, et donne des leçons au Conservatoire royal de Gand. Il a remporté le prestigieux Concours Reine Élisabeth en 1999, et son disque ‘Piano Studies Scriabin’ a été élu Meilleur album international par Klara en 2005. Son répertoire trahit une grande familiarité avec l’œuvre de Rachmaninov – écoutez-le jouer le Concerto pour piano no 3 ici.

En 2008, Knack a décrit en ces mots son interprétation en direct de l’œuvre de Rachmaninov: “Son interprétation était extraordinaire, poétique, naturelle, et d’une maturité que nous n’avions pas suffisamment appréciée en 1999. Son articulation toute en précision et en légèreté et la manière dont il en jouait était d’un niveau supérieur. Cette interprétation ne méritait pas moins qu’une standing ovation.

DISTRIBUTION
Le rôle principal sera interprété par Anna Franziska Jäger. Il s’agit du troisième rôle d’Anna Franziska, qui a joué aux côtés de Matthias Schoenaerts et Déborah François dans My Queen Karo (2009), et a ensuite tourné dans Booster (2014), de Daniel Lambo. Les autres rôles principaux seront tenus par Yolande Moreau (Le tout nouveau testament, Séraphine, Quand la mer monte), Natali Broods (Façades, Tabula Rasa), Martha Canga Antonio (Black), Ishaq El Akel, Lucie Debay (Melody, King of the Belgians), et Roy Aernouts (De Behandeling).

Quant aux rôles secondaires, on y retrouvera Jan Hammenecker (Beau Séjour, Home, Tango Libre), David Murgia ( Les Premiers les Derniers, Rundskop, Angle Mort), et Koen De Sutter (Cordon).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *